Michigan State University News

News, Videos, Photos and More from Michigan State University Students

Chris Vannini Biography

Posted by Chris Vannini on January 22, 2010

Chris Vannini
I am a journalism junior (actually a senior due to credits) but I hope to graduate in a year. I am from Troy, Mich. My house is down the street from Somerset Mall, which is a place every kid in Michigan seems to know.

I went to Seaholm High School in Birmingham, Mich., where I played ice hockey and participated in the marching band.

Currently, I am the men’s basketball reporter for The State News. I began writing for the State News in the fall of 2008. I started off as an intern that fall and became the student government reporter that spring. I joined the sports desk and was offered my dream job when I became football reporter in the fall of 2009. Being able to cover my favorite team alongside reporters who worked their whole life to get in the same situation was something I could never have imagined. This spring, I’ve been the men’s basketball reporter and it’s been just as enjoyable. My job has me working more than 35 hours a week and I get to miss out on the typical college experience because I’m so busy, but I wouldn’t trade my situation for anything in the world. I have one sibling, a younger brother who is enjoying his freshman year at MSU. My family has one dog, a white German shepherd whom I miss a lot. I always like wrestling with my dog. He loves to bite but he knows to just gnaw so it’s a lot of fun.

I have a girlfriend whom I met at the State News when she was in the same intern class as me. She’s also a journalism major and has been freelancing for City Pulse in Lansing recently.

My dream job was to cover a sports team as a beat for a newspaper but with that position dwindling, I’m just hoping to find some sort of job covering sports. I am also going for a public relations specialization and another possible job opportunity would be a PR job in the field of sports. What I hope to get out of this class is refining my online skills over various mediums and to sharpen my skills to help my chances of getting a job in the future.

To see more of my work, check out my page.

One Response to “Chris Vannini Biography”

  1. Bob Gould said

    shows nice personality…nice production techniques. Try to use the handheld or lavalier mics. the audio sounds too ambient. If you shoot against a window it becomes backlit, so watch for that.

Leave a Reply

 
